co-operation with municipal and provincial organizations, established an air sampling network to collect data on pollutants in urban centres and correlate them with meteorological data.

The Department of Citizenship and Immigration.—In general, the federalprovincial agreements in which this Department participates concern wildlife as a factor in Indian income opportunities. The agreements include: the Sipanok Fur Area agreement, which is mainly concerned with muskrat production; the Fur Conservation Agreements with Ontario, Manitoba and Saskatchewan\* under which several million dollars have been spent in joint conservation programs; the federal-Ontario resources management program for the Bruce Peninsula; a federal-Ontario agreement whereby the Ontario Government operates a fur farm on Akimiski Island of James Bay on behalf of the Northwest Territories Council and the Indian Affairs Branch; the Beckwith Island grouse study in Georgian Bay; and various projects for industrial development of resources (particularly fish) in the interest of Indian communities.

The Department of Forestry.-This Department is concerned primarily with promoting effective management of Canada's forest resources and improving wood utilization, and to these ends conducts comprehensive programs of research and undertakes, promotes and recommends measures to encourage application of desirable methods. In addition to the federal-provincial resource agreements under ARDA, the Department of Forestry is responsible for federal administration of joint programs as follows. Composite Forestry Agreements: beginning in 1951 and in 1960 provided for in the Department of Forestry Act, the agreements cover federal assistance in five areas of forestry-inventories, reforestation, fire protection, access roads and trails, and forest stand improvement. The annual allotment provided by the Federal Government is \$7,910,000, allocated between provinces according to a formula based on productive forest area. Forest Stand Improvement Program: established under federal-Nova Scotia agreement in 1961 for the improvement of Cape Breton Island forest stands and to provide employment for coal miners affected by mine closures. Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Area: a 25-year federal-Alberta agreement beginning in 1947 and revised in 1951 and 1957 provided for conservation of 9,000 sq. miles of forest on the headwaters of the Bow, Crowsnest and Clearwater Rivers, to ensure maximum water flow in the Saskatchewan rivers. The Federal Government provided the capital costs of \$6,200,000, and the province maintains the projects. Fire Protection Arrangements: include federal-Alberta agreements for fire detection and suppression in the Rocky Mountains Forest Reserve and similarly on the boundary areas of Waterton Lakes, Banff, Jasper and Wood Buffalo National Parks. Forest Research Agreements: include federal-Ontario agreements for forest research, under an advisory committee composed of five federal and five provincial members, to develop experiments and test procedures; operation of the Forest Insect Laboratory at Sault Ste. Marie and the Forest Pathology Laboratory at Maple, Ont. Budworm Spraying Program: established in 1953 as a means of controlling spruce budworm infestation by a spraying program conducted by Forest Protection Ltd., a federal-provincial-industry organization composed of four pulp and paper companies, the Government of New Brunswick and the Federal Government. More than 24,000,000 acres have been sprayed at a total cost of over \$17,200,000, of which the Federal Government has contributed \$5,529,000.

<sup>•</sup> The Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources is also a party to this agreement.